About Us

Chongqing University of Education, or CQUE, was founded in 1954 as Chongqing Secondary School Teachers' Spare-Time Training School. Later, it was renamed Chongqing Teachers' Training College, and then Chongqing College of Education. In March 2012, with the approval of the Ministry of Education (MOE), it was renamed Chongqing University of Education (CQUE).

Located in Nan'an District, Chongqing, it has two campuses, Xuefu Avenue Campus and Nanshan Campus, covering an area of 742,300 square meters and a building area of 392,800 square meters. As of the end of 2020, the CQUE libraries have had a total of 1.98 million copies of books and various digital resources that support teaching and research.

Focusing on the five key service industries of Chongqing, namely education, information, business, culture, and health industries, CQUE offers 37 undergraduate programs, covering education, literature, science, engineering, management, economics, art, and other major fields. CQUE actively builds a special major cluster that "serves the development of children aged 0-12", promotes the integration of teacher training programs and other programs, and coordinates the development of multiple disciplines. Three programs offered by CQUE, including Elementary Education, Preschool Education, and Computer Science and Technology, have been built as first-class undergraduate programs recognized by the MOE.

CQUE has developed exchange relationships with more than 80 universities and teaching institutes worldwide. It also has carried out Sino-foreign cooperative programs by introducing quality educational resources from the US, the UK, and Spain